SAA and RCM Cert in Australia and New Zealand

brief introduction

Electrical products shipped to Australia must conform to the requirements of the electrical safety and electromagnetic compatibility, for some products must also conform to the requirements of the Australian MEPS power consumption in Australia, electrical safety responsibility system of qualified evaluation system for state or county, each certification bodies according to the 1945 electrical safety reciprocity unified certification approval plan electrical products are divided into required to declare and does not need to declare the second class must declare under the category of electrical products must comply with the relevant Australian safety standards and state certification body certification certificate does not need to declare under the category of electrical products sales before without approval.

However, retailers, manufacturers and importers must guarantee the electrical safety of such products in Australia, electromagnetic compatibility requirements is controlled by electromagnetic compatibility architecture (radio communications act of 1992) all within the framework of the electrical products must comply with Australian Standards and C - Tick marks from the Australian defense communication agency right of RCM logo also can be used to meet the requirements of the electrical safety and electromagnetic compatibility at the same time as any Australian security tag products for New Zealand recognizes Australia Standards bodies for Standards Australia International Limited, formerly the Australian Commonwealth Engineering Standards Association established in 1992, was changed to the Standards Association of Australian (SAA) in 1929.


The Australian certification shall be referred to as SAA certification according to the Standards formulated by SAA

SAA was renamed Standards Australia in 1988 and changed from the association to a Limited company in 1999. SAA is an independent company and does not have a direct relationship with the government, although the federal and state governments are members of it.

However, AS in any technical infrastructure of a country means that the importance of close cooperation with the government and it is necessary to ensure this, since 1988, a memorandum of understanding between SAA and the federal government admitted that SAA is the highest organization of Australian standard of non-governmental institutions in the memo, points out that the standards to be consistent with the requirements of the WTO, therefore, have a deal pointed out that when the appropriate international standards already exist, you don't have to establish new standards Australia Australia standard to the AS beginning, Australia and New Zealand standard of joint is the AS/NZS standard.

The standards of Australia and New Zealand are basically in line with IEC (currently 33.3% of Australian standards are completely in line with national standards), but there are some national differences, such as due to the geographical location, the standards of some products (such as fans) must be considered according to the tropical climate.

Nature: Voluntary (Voluntary)

Requirements: security and EMC

Voltage: 240 vac

Frequency: 50 hz

Member of CB system: yes

State capitals that issue SAA certificates

1. The Queensland: Q0511232. Western Australia: W20153. Victoria: V99 V052124. New South Wales: NSW22736, N190225. South Australia: S1, S4426. Ancestor: T051237. Australian Capital Territory: A050Only three states, Queensland, Victoria and New South Wales, have accepted applications from abroad.